About me

In 1989, when, at the age of ten, I was learning my first words in English, a feeling was born which later on should develop into an outright passion, not only for foreign tongues but for language in general. Since that time, I have been quite constantly in close touch with the English language. In 2001, I decided to tackle my A-Levels, which I did with English as first special subject. The second was Spanish. That was the beginning of my love for the language of Cervantes, García Márquez, Celia Cruz and so many others, who would probably not have entered my life and enriched it so much if I had not taken that step in the first place. This being done, the next station in my career was obvious to me: studying Spanish Philology with Latin-American Studies at the Freie Universität Berlin, rounded off by a two-semester stay as a guest student at the Universidad de Salamanca in Spain. From 2008 to 2010, I studied for a master’s degree in general linguistics, focus on Romance languages.

In 2012, I passed the highly demanding state exam for translators at the Berlin State Examination Office, followed, in 2013, by registering at the Berlin Land Court as certified translator for Spanish and German.

Since March 2011, I have been working as freelance translator and proofreader. I mainly work in German, English, Spanish and Catalan, for various types of clients, from private costumers to manufacturers, agencies, publishing houses, organizations and foundations. In doing so, I not only become steadily acquainted with new subjects, types of texts and writing styles, which in itself is a fascinating aspect of my work, but I also keep learning to deal with the most diverse characters, to fathom positions and to negotiate for satisfying compromises. Since 2015, I also work as a half-time in-house translator for English and German.

 

Academic career

  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Spanish Philology with Latin-American Studies and Comparative Literary Studies from 2004 to 2008 at the Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Languages of Europe: Structures and Use from 2008 to 2010 at the Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
  • Erasmus   Academic year at the Universidad de Salamanca, Spain (2006/2007)

 Further education

  • Numerous semesters of intensive language training in Spanish, Italian, and Catalan at the Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
  • Further, though more sporadic, language courses in Latin and Basque
  • Seminar on the Theory and Practice of Translation (Spanish/German) with Prof. Dr. G. Mensching at the Freie Universität Berlin, Germany (2009)
  • Traineeship as translator at Kern AG in 2010/2011
  • Grant for workshop on literary translation in Spain (Sept. 2011), organised by the Universidad de Salamanca and Deutscher Übersetzerfonds
  • Oct. 2011 – Jul. 2012: Spanish-German state exam for translators

Published translations

  • Inocencia – Sieben Geschichten über einen Anfang, Juan Riquelme Lagos, Kulturmaschinen, ISBN: 978-3-940274-60-1
  • Im Schatten des Nachbarn, Juan Riquelme Lagos, Kulturmaschinen, ISBN: 978-3-943977-34-9

_______________

Über mich

______

1989, als ich im Alter von zehn Jahren in der Schule meine ersten englischen Wörter lernte, begann sich meine Leidenschaft für fremde Sprachen, aber auch für Sprache insgesamt, herauszubilden. Seit jener Zeit ist mein Kontakt zur englischen Sprache weitgehend konstant. 2001 entschloss ich mich, die Hochschulreife nachzuholen (im 2. Bildungsweg); mein erstes Leistungsfach war Englisch – das zweite war Spanisch. Dies war der Auftakt einer langjährigen, bis heute anhaltenden Liebe zur Sprache Cervantes‘, García Márquez‘, Celia Cruz‘ und so vieler anderer, die erst dadurch in mein Leben traten und es so unendlich bereicherten. Die nächste Station in meinem Werdegang war damit beschlossene Sache: ein Studium der spanischen Philologie mit Lateinamerikanistik an der Freien Universität Berlin, abgerundet durch einen zweisemestrigen Aufenthalt als Gaststudent an der spanischen Universidad de Salamanca. 2008 folgte ein Master-Studium in allgemeiner Linguistik mit romanistischem Schwerpunkt.

2012 absolvierte ich die bekanntermaßen sehr anspruchsvolle staatliche Prüfung am Berliner Prüfungsamt für Übersetzer, woraufhin ich im Folgejahr vom Landgericht Berlin als Übersetzer für die spanische Sprache ermächtigt wurde.

Seit März 2011 bin ich als freiberuflicher Übersetzer und Korrektor tätig. Ich arbeite hauptsächlich in den Sprachen Deutsch, Spanisch, Englisch und Katalanisch. Meine Kundschaft ist sehr heterogen: von Privatleuten über Firmen, Agenturen und Verlagen bis zu Organisationen und Stiftungen ist fast alles vertreten. Dabei arbeite ich mich nicht nur immer wieder in neue Themen, Textsorten und Schreibstile ein, was ich als äußerst spannend und bereichernd empfinde, sondern lerne auch stetig, mit den unterschiedlichsten Partnern zu verhandeln, Positionen auszuloten und Kompromisse zu finden. Seit 2015 arbiete ich zudem als Übersetzer für Englisch-Deutsch in Festanstellung (Teilzeit).

Akademischer Werdegang

  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Sprachen Europas: Strukturen und Verwendung an der Freien Universität Berlin von 2008 bis 2010; Masterarbeit: „Diachronie und Aktualität des Katalanischen“, Note: 1,7
  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Spanische Philologie mit Lateinamerikanistik und Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin von 2004 bis 2008; Bachelorarbeit: „Zur ethischen Flexibilität bei Quevedo und Gracián“, Note: 1,0
  • Erasmus: zwei Semester als Gaststudent an der Philologischen Fakultät der Universidad de Salamanca, Spanien (2006/2007)

Zusätzliche Qualifizierung

  • Für die Berliner Gerichte und Notare ermächtigter Übersetzer für Spanisch
  • Stipendium für Teilnahme an der Berliner Übersetzerwerkstatt 2012 des LCB (Leitung: Thomas Brovot)
  • 2011/12: Staatliche Übersetzerprüfung durch das Land Berlin (ES/DE)
  • Stipendium für Teilnahme an Literaturübersetzerwerkstatt im September 2011, organisiert von der Universidad de Salamanca und dem Deutschen Übersetzerfonds (Leitung: Dr. Belén Santana, Luis Ruby)
  • 2010/11: Praktikum als Übersetzer bei Fa. Kern AG, Filiale Karlsruhe
  • 2009: Seminar zu Theorie und Praxis des Übersetzens (Spanisch/Deutsch) bei Prof. Dr. G. Mensching, Freie Universität Berlin
  • 2004 – 2010: zahlreiche Semester intensiven Sprachunterrichts an der Freien Universität Berlin in den Sprachen Spanisch, Italienisch und Katalanisch
  • Weitere Sprachkurse (Latein, Baskisch) an der FUB
  • 1996 – 1999: Lehre als Trockenbaumonteur bei Jaeger Akustik Havel GmbH & Co. KG

Veröffentlichungen

————–

_____________________________________________________________

 

Weitere Profile und Einträge von mir finden Sie im Netz u. a. bei Xing, Google+Wegweiser Aktuell, Traduguide, Grin, im Übersetzerverzeichnis sowie im Übersetzerkatalog.